2012 Jostens Trophy Finalists Announced

2012 Jostens Trophy Finalists Announced

SALEM, Va. --- The finalists for the prestigious Jostens Trophy were announced today by members of the Rotary Club of Salem, Va. The club is responsible for the initial review of annual nominations and narrowed the pool to 10 men and 10 women finalists.

The Salem Rotary Club Jostens Trophy Committee employs a numerical rating to narrow the list of finalists so that the decision can be made on the most objective basis possible. The committee was pleased with a great group of nominees totaling over 50 combined nominations for the 2012 awards.

Listed below alphabetically are the 10 finalists for the 2012 Men’s and Women’s Jostens Trophy:

Men's Finalists Women's Finalists
Seth Anderson, Gustavus Adolphus Sharwil Bell, Rhodes
Matt Carr, WPI Carol Cayo, Mil. School of Engineering
Felix Friedt, Whitworth Alexandra Chili, Muhlenberg
Matt Johnson, Univ. of Chicago Sarah Condra, Franklin
Spencer Liddic, Muhlenberg Erin Hollinger, Case Western Reserve
Tim McCrary, Wheaton Christine Marks, Misericordia
Ryan Sharry, Middlebury Brittany Sedlock, St. Vincent
Aaron Van Klaveren, Cal Lutheran Taylor Simpson, Univ. of Chicago
Aris Wurtz, Ripon Caroline Stedman, Amherst
Jordan Zimmer, Illinois Wesleyan Carissa Verkaik, Calvin

Final ballots are due no later than March 6 with the winning schools notified by March 8. The awards presentation is scheduled for Thursday, March 15 at the Salem Civic Center in conjunction with the Men's Division III Championship being hosted in Salem, Va., on March 16-17.

The Jostens Trophy is a national award created by the Rotary Club of Salem, Va., to honor the most outstanding men's and women's Division III basketball players of the year. The award takes into account three vital parts: basketball ability, academic prowess and community service. The trophy models the Rotary International motto of "Service Above Self" by recognizing those who truly fit the ideal of the well-rounded Division III student-athlete. This year's class marks the 15th year the award has been presented.

Additional information on the award can be found at http://www.odaconline.com/jostens/index.