2013 Jostens Trophy Finalists Announced

2013 Jostens Trophy Finalists Announced

SALEM, Va. --- The finalists for the prestigious Jostens Trophy were announced today by members of the Rotary Club of Salem, Va. The club is responsible for the initial review of annual nominations and narrowed the pool to 10 men and 11 women finalists.

The Jostens Trophy is awarded to an outstanding Division III men’s and women’s basketball player who excels on the floor, in the classroom and in the community.

The Salem Rotary Club Jostens Trophy Committee employs a numerical rating to narrow the list of finalists so that the decision can be made on the most objective basis possible.

Last year, Aris Wurtz of Ripon and Taylor Simpson of Chicago took home the trophies.

Listed below are the finalists for the 2013 Jostens Trophy: 

Men's finalists

Women's finalists

Sean Dart, Willamette

Sarah Bingea, UW-Eau Claire

John DiBartolomeo, Rochester

Sarah Collins, Babson

Keven Donohue, Union

Kate Dellinger, Widener

Colton Hunt, Randolph

Katelyn Fischer, Marymount

Chris Kearney, Catholic

Rosa LaMattina, Mount Union

Taylor Koth, Ripon

Allison Long, Thomas More

Michael Mayer, Williams

Kate Nielsen, Simpson

Wes Nordquist, Buena Vista

Alexis Popelar, Hardin-Simmons

Jason Norsen, St. John Fisher

Connie Urmanski, UW-Superior

Nathan Roeder, North Central (Minn.)

Carissa Verkaik, Calvin


Jill Woerner, Catholic

Voters’ ballots are due by March 13 with the winning schools expected to be notified by March 15. The awards presentation is scheduled for Thursday, March 21 at the Salem Civic Center in conjunction with the Men's Division III quarterfinals and semifinals being hosted in Salem, Va., on March 22-23.

The Jostens Trophy is a national award created by the Rotary Club of Salem, Va., to honor the most outstanding men's and women's Division III basketball players of the year. The award takes into account three vital parts: basketball ability, academic prowess and community service. The trophy models the Rotary International motto of "Service Above Self" by recognizing those who truly fit the ideal of the well-rounded Division III student-athlete. This year's class marks the 16th year the award has been presented.

Additional information on the award can be found at http://www.odaconline.com/jostens/index