2014 Jostens Trophy Finalists Announced

2014 Jostens Trophy Finalists Announced

SALEM, Va. --- The finalists for the prestigious Jostens Trophy were announced today by members of the Rotary Club of Salem, Va. The club is responsible for the initial review of annual nominations and narrowed the pool to 10 men's and 10 women's finalists.

The Jostens Trophy is awarded to an outstanding NCAA Division III men’s and women’s basketball player who excels on the floor, in the classroom and in the community.

The Salem Rotary Club Jostens Trophy Committee employs a numerical rating to narrow the list of finalists so that the decision can be made on the most objective basis possible.

Last year, Carissa Verkaik of Calvin College and Colton Hunt from Randolph College took home the trophies.

Listed below are the finalists for the 2014 Jostens Trophy:

Men's finalists Women's finalists
Richie Bonney, Hobart College Lexi Baltes, Illinois Wesleyan University
Galen Holzhueter, Martin Luther College Lianna Carrero, Albertus Magnus College
Trevor Johnson, Nebraska Wesleyan University Emily DeNoyer, Carroll University
Dan Kornbaum, Augsburg College Katelyn Fischer, Marymount University
Gordon Lyons, SUNY Geneseo Becky Hebert, Fredonia State University
Dustin McConnell, Whitworth University Maureen Hirt, Kenyon College
Tyler Peters, Wheaton College (Ill.) Cydni Matsuoka, Vassar College
Ryan Sheehan, Nichols College Kimberly Takaoka, Chapman University
Jared Suderley, Hartwick College Jill VanEperen, Ripon College
David Thompson, Case Western Reserve University Marla Willard, Monmouth College (Ill.)


Voters’ ballots are due by March 13 with the winning schools expected to be notified by March 14. The awards presentation is scheduled for Thursday, March 20 at the Salem Civic Center in conjunction with the NCAA Division III men's basketball semifinals and championship in Salem, Va., on March 21-22.

The Jostens Trophy is a national award created by the Rotary Club of Salem, Va., to honor the most outstanding men's and women's NCAA Division III basketball players of the year. The award takes into account three vital parts: basketball ability, academic prowess and community service. The trophy models the Rotary International motto of "Service Above Self" by recognizing those who truly fit the ideal of the well-rounded NCAA Division III student-athlete. This year's class marks the 17th year the award has been presented.

Additional information on the award can be found at http://www.odaconline.com/jostens