2015 Jostens Trophy Finalists Announced

Case Western's Dane McLoughlin and Berry's Chanlir Segarra are two of the finalists for the 2015 Jostens Trophies.
Case Western's Dane McLoughlin and Berry's Chanlir Segarra are two of the finalists for the 2015 Jostens Trophies.

SALEM, Va. --- The finalists for the prestigious Jostens Trophy were announced today by members of the Rotary Club of Salem, Va. The club is responsible for the initial review of annual nominations and narrowed the pool to 10 men's and 10 women's finalists.

The Jostens Trophy is awarded to an outstanding NCAA Division III men’s and women’s basketball player who excels on the floor, in the classroom and in the community.

The Salem Rotary Club Jostens Trophy Committee employs a numerical rating to narrow the list of finalists so that the decision can be made on the most objective basis possible.

Last year, Katelyn Fischer of Marymount University and Hobart College's Richie Bonney took home the trophies.

Listed below are the finalists for the 2015 Jostens Trophy:

Men's finalists Women's finalists
George Bugarinovic, Johns Hopkins University Rachel Carter, Salem State
Chris Cook, Hood College Liz Coyne, Rosemont College
Nicholas LaGuerre, St. Mary's College of Maryland Melissa Gilkey, Washington University in St. Louis
Gordon Lyons, SUNY Geneseo Sally Linzmeier, UW-Superior
Dane McLoughlin, Case Western Reserve University Hannah McGinnis, Illinois College
Dylan Overstreet, Illinois Wesleyan University Sarah Parsons, Randolph-Macon College
Travis Schomaeker, Defiance College Briana Rae, Blackburn College
Brayden Teuscher, Wheaton College (IL) Jess Rheinheimer, Eastern Mennonite University
Clayton Whitlock, MacMurray College Chanlir Segarra, Berry College
John Wickey, Babson College Kelsey Shoemake, Eureka College


Voters’ ballots are due by March 12 with the winning schools expected to be notified by March 13. The awards presentation is scheduled for Thursday, March 19 at the Salem Civic Center in conjunction with the NCAA Division III men's basketball semifinals and championship in Salem, Va., on March 20-21.

The Jostens Trophy is a national award created by the Rotary Club of Salem, Va., to honor the most outstanding men's and women's NCAA Division III basketball players of the year. The award takes into account three vital parts: basketball ability, academic prowess and community service. The trophy models the Rotary International motto of "Service Above Self" by recognizing those who truly fit the ideal of the well-rounded NCAA Division III student-athlete. This year's class marks the 18th year the award has been presented.

Additional information on the award can be found at http://www.odaconline.com/jostens