Student-Athlete Advisory Committee

 

Creation of ODAC SAAC Constitution

ODAC SAAC Constitution/By-Laws

Institutional SAAC Resources (Updates in Progress)

Bridgewater
Eastern Mennonite
Emory & Henry 
Guilford
Hampden-Sydney
Hollins
Lynchburg
Randolph 
Randolph-Macon  
Roanoke
Shenandoah
Sweet Briar 
Virginia Wesleyan  
Washington and Lee 

2016-17 ODAC SAAC Roster

School   Student Representative Sport  Email Address
Bridgewater College Brett Jones Baseball bjones@eagles.bridgewater.edu
Bridgewater College Scott Tucker Lacrosse stucker@eagles.bridgewater.edu
Eastern Mennonite University  TBA    
Eastern Mennonite University  TBA    
Emory & Henry College Jessica Richardson Swimming  jrichardson13@ehc.edu
Emory & Henry College David Jackson Soccer djackson14@ehc.edu
Guilford College Nick Eckstein
Soccer ecksteinnp@guilford.edu
Guilford College Casey Davis  Volleyball  davisck@guilford.edu
Hampden-Sydney College  Lewis Brooks Cross Country  brooksl19@hsc.edu
Hampden-Sydney College Ryan Peevey Baseball  peeveyr17@hsc.edu
Hollins University  Jhovanna Ramirez-Salmeron Cross Country, Tennis ramirezsalmeronjl@hollins.edu
Hollins University  Dani Raymond  Swimming raymonddj@hollins.edu
Lynchburg College Stephen Ruppel Lacrosse ruppel_s@lynchburg.edu
Lynchburg College Christina Antonucci Equestrian antonucci_c@lynchburg.edu
Randolph College  Leah Hughes Lacrosse lnhughes@randolphcollege.edu
Randolph College Jordyn Knapp Softball  jlknapp@randolphcollege.edu 
Randolph-Macon College Mariah Clark
Volleyball  mariahclark@go.rmc.edu
Randolph-Macon College Caitlin Delmas
Tennis caitlindelmas@go.rmc.edu 
Roanoke College Nolan Webb  Tennis mnwebb@mail.roanoke.edu
Roanoke College  Megan Diehl Field Hockey  mmdiehl@mail.roanoke.edu
Shenandoah University  Matt Gussiaas Cross Country  mgussiaa13@su.edu
Shenandoah University  Mary Severin Basketball mseverin12@su.edu
Sweet Briar College Claire Zak Cross Country  zak18@sbc.edu
Sweet Briar College  Emily Dodson Field hockey  dodson18@sbc.edu 
Virginia Wesleyan College Gavin Fry Track & Field  gjfry@vwc.edu
Virginia Wesleyan College Teresa Cardamone Softball tacardamone@vwc.edu 
Washington & Lee University  Kenzie Shand Volleyball shandm17@mail.wlu.edu
Washington & Lee University  Katie Clemmons Soccer clemmonsm@mail.wlu.edu

 

Past SAAC Members

 

Community Service Projects

2005 ODAC SAAC Food Drive
2006 ODAC SAAC Food Drive
2007 ODAC SAAC Food Drive
2008 ODAC SAAC Food Drive
2011 ODAC SAAC Hosts Special Olympics Volleyball Celebration
2012 ODAC SAAC Bowls With Special Olympics

SAAC Committee Minutes

2005 Minutes
2006 Minutes
2007 Minutes
2008 Minutes
2010 Informational Packet
2010 Minutes
2011 Minutes
2012 Minutes:  Fall Meeting Minutes and Spring Meeting Minutes
2013 Minutes:  Fall Meeting Minutes and Spring Meeting Minutes
2014 Minutes:  Spring Meeting Minutes
2016 Minutes:  Fall Meeting Minutes and Spring Meeting Minutes 

NCAA and Program Information

NCAA Division III SAAC 
Division III SAAC and Mental Health Interest
2017 Division III Week (April 3-9)
July 2016 NCAA Division III SAAC Meeting Report 
2015 National SAAC Update 
2015 NCAA Convention Update 
Step UP!
FLAME Program
NCAA Scholarships
NCAA Nutrition and Performance Resource
Division III SAAC Guide and Best Practices 
Special Olympics Partnership (reporting link included)  

What ODAC SAAC Programs Are Doing in 2014-15...

Hollins University Raises Funds for Trust House 

Hollins University Volunteers at Blacksburg Color Me Rad Race and Raises Money for Special Olympics  

Roanoke College's SAAC: Organized a toy drive for Roanoke's Rescue Mission and donated more than 20 gifts for teenagers and children. 

Bridgewater College SAAC: The Bridgewater College SAAC program hosted a Special Olympics Basketball Pizza party in Januray. Special Olympians and their families were invited to attend the Women's and Men's basketball games at 2pm and 4:30pm. Between the two games, SAAC hosted a pizza party with the Special Olympians and BC SAAC representatives helped serve the families and interacted with them.

*A special story BC wanted to share:One of the Special Olympians had been going through a hard time in his life. One of his caregivers was admitted into a nursing home and was not in good health. He did not want to do anything other than stay by her side. On top of that, one of his good friends from Special Olympics had passed away recently. When they asked him if he wanted to come be part of the pizza party and watch Bridgewater Basketball he was so excited and wanted to attend. His story was so special, so they presented him with a Nininger Nut t-shirt...made his day.

See the photos below and don't forget to e-mail Mollie with activities you're doing on your campus and in the community or just post right here on Facebook!

2013-14

Randolph's SAAC Raises Money For Special Olympics

Shenandoah University SAAC Hosts a "Kids Day Out"

Roanoke College SAAC Hosts Special Olympics Volunteer 2 Cheer
RC hosted Special Olympics’ Volunteer 2 Cheer on their campus, as well as at two neighboring locations. Roanoke College SAAC members and other student-athletes helped in volunteer efforts, including attendance (cheering), and in operations (scorebook/board, announcing, etc.).

Randolph-Macon College SAAC Raises Money For Charities
The Randolph-Macon College SAAC organized a 'Midnight Macon Mile,' which is a run dedicated towards a healthy and safe spring break by promoting the prevention of drinking and driving. All proceeds collected from the event will be donated to two local beneficiaries: Hanover Cares and the Menzies Family (Meg Menzies was a local runner who killed tragically by a drunk driver a few weeks ago - her husband, Scott, is an Officer for the Ashland Police Department).

Lynchburg College SAAC Organized 'Hornet Day of Caring'

Emory & Henry College, Hollins University and Roanoke College Volunteer for Special Olympics at Color Me Rad Race

Virginia Wesleyan College Volunteers at Special Olympics Fall Championships: Several student-athletes from the baseball, golf, men's lacrosse and women's lacrosse teams, including SAAC members, volunteered at the Special Olympics Fall Championships in Virginia Beach in November.

Randolph-Macon College SAAC Participates in Holiday Cheer & Gear: R-MC's SAAC raised 66 gifts (basketballs, soccer balls, tennis balls, volleyballs, footballs, tennis racquets, lacrosse sticks, equipment bags, etc.) for youth in the greater Richmond area betweem the ages of 12-16 that are part of the Salvation Army Christmas Assistance Program.

Bridgewater College SAAC Hosts Special Olympics for Basketball Halftime Games