Sweet Briar Wins ODAC Riding Champs

Sweet Briar Wins ODAC Riding Champs

Vixens Take Two Rounds, Top Hollins by One Point

LYNCHBURG, Va. --- Sweet Briar College won two of three rounds of competition in the 2012 ODAC Equestrian Championships on Friday afternoon, which was enough to put it atop Hollins by one point to secure the Vixens their second ODAC riding title.  SBC previously won the ODAC's inaugural riding championship in 1987.

Hollins' Emma Lane Poole posted the highest individual average at the Randolph Riding Center in Lynchburg, earning her ODAC Rider of the Year honors.  Sweet Briar mentor Mimi Wroten was tabbed the ODAC Coach of the Year.  Washington and Lee University garnered the remaining two special awards as Charlotte Keesler was named ODAC Rookie of the Year, and Tamara Morse was selected as the ODAC/Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athlete for the third consecutive season by the ODAC's sports information directors.

The Vixens racked up 238.25 points in the first Equitation Over Fences judging on Course A, led by an 86.5 combined judges' (two judges) score from Ali Davidson.  Lauren Perhala (76.5) and Kathryne Richard (75.25) also scored for the Vixens.  Finishing first earned SBC seven points towards the final team standings (5 for second, 4, 3, 2, 1 thru sixth).

The second fences competition, over Course B, went to Hollins.  Poole led her horse to an 86.0 average, and was joined by Sarah Jarosinski (79.5) and Meredith McDonnell (77.875) in accounting for HU's 243.375 team total.

Equitation Over Flats proved the deciding factor as SBC's Davidson and Olivia Smith helped the Vixens rebound from a fifth place team placing over Course B by posting a combined 161.5 team mark to earn top prize.  The added seven points was enough to secure first place in the overall team standings by one point over Hollins (16-15).

Listed below are the final team standings as well as the 2012 All-ODAC Riding Team.  Click HERE for full results.  For more information, visit the websites of any of the participating schools, or go to the ODAC's home on the Internet at www.odaconline.com.

1. Sweet Briar 16 pts.
2. Hollins 15 pts.
3. Randolph 10 pts.
4. Lynchburg * 9 pts.
5. Washington and Lee * 9 pts.
6. Bridgewater 7 pts.
* Tie was broken based on highest team point totals combining both Equitation Over Fences rounds (LC: 477.25; W&L: 457.0).
Top-10 Finishers at ODAC Championships
Emma Lane Poole, HU 85.0000 avg.
Ali Davidson, SBC 82.7500 avg.
Sarah Brown, HU 81.1250 avg.
Charlotte Keesler, W&L 80.5000 avg.
Kelly Gerland, LC 80.3750 avg.
Rachel Jones, LC 79.5000 avg.
Jennifer Fowler, RAND 78.5625 avg.
Stephany West, RAND 77.7500 avg.
Tamara Morse, W&L 77.0000 avg.
Lizzie Kerron, RAND 74.4375 avg.
ODAC Rider of the Year: Emma Lane Poole, HU
ODAC Coach of the Year: Mimi Wroten, SBC
ODAC Rookie of the Year: Charlotte Keesler, W&L
ODAC/Farm Bureau Scholar-Athlete: Tamara Morse, W&L