Hollins Wins Record 20th ODAC Riding Championship

Hollins Wins Record 20th ODAC Riding Championship

HU Claims All Three Competed Disciplines

SWEET BRIAR, Va. --- Hollins University won all three rounds of competition at the 2013 ODAC Equestrian Championships on Friday afternoon, propelling HU to its ODAC-record 20th conference riding championship.  The title is the third in four years for Hollins.

The ODAC Rider of the Year belongs to Hollins for the fourth straight season as senior Sarah Brown recorded the highest individual average at the Sweet Briar College Riding Center.  HU head coach Sandy Gerald received his seventh ODAC Coach of the Year award, while Lynchburg College freshman McKenzie Canard was tabbed the ODAC Rookie of the Year.  Sweet Briar senior Elizabeth Hansbrough was selected the ODAC/Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athlete in a vote of the league's sports information directors.

Hollins racked up 250.0 points following the first Equitation Over Fences on Course A, finishing 8.75 judges points clear of Washington and Lee University to earn HU seven points towards the team standings.  Blair St. Ledger-Olson led the way with an 86.5 average from the two judges, followed by 86.0 from Brown.  Lindsley Fletcher rounded out HU's scoring with a 77.5 average.

Brown turned out the highest-rated performance of the day in the second round of Equitation Over Fences on Course B, receiving an 89.0 average.  Fletcher posted an 83.0 rating, while St. Ledger-Olson scored 80.75 to account for 252.75 judges points and seven more tallies towards the standings for HU.  LC's Canard tied Fletcher's 83.0 mark for second-best in the round.

Randolph College's Meaghan Hynes and W&L's Molly Rountree received 86.0 averages from the judges to top the Equitation Over Flats competition.  This round, in which only two competitors earn points for each squad, again went to Hollins as St. Ledger-Olson (84.5) and Brown (82.0) combined for 166.5 judges points and seven more team tallies towards the teams standings to complete a perfect 21-point effort.

Listed below are the full team rankings, as well as the 2013 All-ODAC Riding Team.  Click HERE for full results.  For more information, visit the websites of any of the participating schools, or go to the ODAC's home on the Internet at www.odaconline.com.

1. Hollins 21 pts.
2. Washington and Lee 13 pts.
3. Sweet Briar 12 pts.
4. Randolph 11 pts.
5. Bridgewater 5 pts.
6. Lynchburg 4 pts.
Top-10 Finishers at ODAC Championships
Averages based on Fence competitions only 
Sarah Brown, HU 85.500 avg.
Blair St. Ledger-Olson, HU 83.625 avg.
Olivia Smith, SBC 82.250 avg.
Lauren Dees, RAND 80.250 avg.
Lindsley Fletcher, HU 80.250 avg.
McKenzie Canard, LC 79.250 avg.
Molly Rountree, W&L 78.750 avg.
Taylor Rose, BC 77.750 avg.
Claire Stevenson, W&L 77.750 avg.
Lizzie Kerron, RAND 77.625 avg.
ODAC Rider of the Year: Sarah Brown, HU
ODAC Coach of the Year: Sandy Gerald, HU
ODAC Rookie of the Year: McKenzie Canard, LC
ODAC/Farm Bureau Scholar-Athlete: Elizabeth Hansbrough, SBC