2012 ODAC Football Virtual Media Guide

Hampden-Sydney Looking for Elusive Back-to-Back Titles 

Hampden-Sydney College has had a strong run of success over the past five years, claiming three of its conference third-best seven overall ODAC football titles.  But the Tigers' goal this season will be working towards a second straight crown for the first time in that span, having come up short in their previous two attempts.  In fact, one has to look back to the five-year run by Bridgewater College from 2001-05 to find a back-to-back winner in the ODAC.

Not only does 2011 ODAC Coach of the Year, Marty Favret, have to figure out who will replace graduated standouts at quarterback, running back, wide receiver and on the offensive line, but H-SC must contend with not six but seven fellow conference teams targeting the reigning champs.

With a strong mix of new and old faces, the ODAC football slate is packed with returning talent and upcoming new names that look to stand out in the 2012 season.  Joining the ranks for its inaugural ODAC gridiron campaign is Shenandoah University, previously of the USA South.  Head coach Paul Barnes and his Hornets have only faced Bridgewater, Catholic University and Randolph-Macon College since the program's revival in 2000.  Not only does 2012 mark a new conference home for SU, but it also welcomes new competition to the stadiums throughout the ODAC.

Shenandoah is not the only squad sporting new faces this season.  Washington and Lee University begins its first season since 1995 with a new leader as Scott Abell was promoted from offensive coordinator to take over the head coaching reins from long-time mentor Frank Miriello, who retired following the 2011 campaign.  Although he'll be breaking in a new starting quarterback this season, Coach Abell welcomes back all three of his starting backs from a multiple option offense that has set numerous ODAC rushing records the past few years.  Just a season removed from NCAA play, W&L will be gunning for a return trip to the tournament.

Randolph-Macon joins H-SC and W&L as the three ODAC squads to have won conference crowns since 2006 (H-SC in 2007, 2009, 2011; W&L in 2006, 2010), having hoisted the hardware in 2008.  Head coach Pedro Arruza has a roster armed with talent on both sides of the ball, including 2011 ODAC Rookie of the Year, quarterback Zac Naccarato.

Each of the ODAC's eight teams boasts a squad strength and standout players that could lead to more wins in 2012.  That list includes the reigning ODAC Defensive Player of the Year in Emory & Henry College linebacker Devan Sproles, a dynamic passing game from Catholic featuring quarterback Greg Cordivari and receivers Alonzo Cooke and Andrew Ouellette, stout defensive line play from Bridgewater led by Danny Grogg and Joel Francis, and young defensive talent at Guilford highlighted by the sophomore trio of linebacker Robert Smith and defensive backs Hunter English and Satiir Stevenson.

For more information on each of the ODAC's football programs, click on the links and photos below.  The information inside will continue to evolve as the preseason progresses, bringing you a more "virtual" experience than a print media guide.  Updates to come include full rosters, individual program preview articles, and other team specific information.  This page will also evolve with the addition of the annual ODAC Football Preseason Poll (August 3) and audio clips from each of the coaches and a selected player from their media day conference calls.  Remember to use the sport specific links on this page gather even more information including records, all-conference teams and the 2012 composite schedule.

D3football.com Preseason Top-25 Poll

D3football.com Preseason All-Americans

2012 ODAC Football Preseason Poll

Audio Clips from 2012 ODAC Football Media Day Conference Calls
  Bridgewater: Head coach Mike Clark and senior defensive tackle Danny Grogg  
  Catholic: Head coach Dave Dunn and senior quarterback Greg Cordivari 
  Emory & Henry: Head coach Don Montgomery and senior linebacker Devan Sproles 
  Guilford: Head coach Chris Rusiewicz and sophomore offensive lineman Faris El-Ali 
  Hampden-Sydney: Head coach Marty Favret and sophomore quarterback Nash Nance  
  Randolph-Macon: Head coach Pedro Arruza and senior running back Drake Sanders 
  Shenandoah: Defensive Coordinator Brock McCullough and senior defensive end Nick Erdman 
  Washington and Lee: Head coach Scott Abell and senior running back Brett Murray