NCAA Releases Championships Field

NCAA Releases Championships Field

BC's Redwood Joins Guilford Team as At-Large Selection

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. --- The NCAA Division III Men's Golf Committee has announced the teams and individuals selected to participate in the 2011 NCAA Division III Men’s Golf Championships. The championships will be held May 10-13, at the Grandover Resort, in Greensboro, North Carolina. The championships will be hosted by Guilford College and the Greensboro Sports Commission.

Guilford, ranked No. 1 in the latest Golf World/Nike Golf Division III Coaches' Poll, earned the ODAC's automatic qualifier in to the NCAA Division III Tournament by winning the conference championship last month.  The Quakers, last year's runner-up at the national championships in Hershey, Pa., will be joined by Bridgewater College's Mike Redwood.  The Eagles' senior earned one of five at-large individual selections in to field.  At the ODAC championships, Redwood won his second straight individual league crown with an eagle on No. 18 on the Palmer Course at Bay Creek Resort & Club in Cape Charles, Va.

A total of 205 participants will compete at the 2011 championships. Twenty-eight conferences were awarded automatic qualification for the championships. Six teams were selected from Pool B, which consists of independent institutions, and institutions that are members of conferences that do not meet the requirements for automatic qualification. The final six berths were reserved for Pool C, which are institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that are not the conference champion and any remaining Pool B teams. The top five individuals are selected from the remaining players who have not qualified with a team. Listed below are the teams and individuals selected for the 2011 championships:

Conference School
Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference Penn State-Altoona
American Southwest Conference Texas Lutheran
Centennial Conference McDaniel
College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin Millikin
Colonial States Athletic Conference Cabrini
Commonwealth Conference Elizabethtown
Freedom Conference Manhattanville
Great Northeast Athletic Conference Massachusetts-Dartmouth
Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Transylvania
Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Central (Iowa)
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association Calvin
Midwest Conference Carroll (Wisconsin)
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference St. John’s (Minn.)
New England Small College Athletic Conference Middlebury
North Atlantic Conference Husson
North Coast Athletic Conference Wittenberg
North Eastern Athletic Conference Penn State-Harrisburg
Northern Athletics Conference Milwaukee School of Engineering
Northwest Conference Linfield
Ohio Athletic Conference Mount Union
Old Dominion Athletic Conference Guilford
Presidents’ Athletic Conference Washington and Jefferson
St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Webster
Skyline Conference Farmingdale State
Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference La Verne
Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Oglethorpe
Upper Midwest Athletic Conference North Central (Minn.)
USA South Athletic Conference Christopher Newport

Nebraska Wesleyan
Wisconsin-Eau Claire
Gustavus Adolphus
Illinois Wesleyan
Player School
Max Bonk Pacific (Ore.)
Trey Bridwell Maryville (Tenn.)
Tain Lee Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Nicholas Palladino Rochester (N.Y.)
Mike Redwood Bridgewater (Va.)

Methodist University defeated Guilford College by one stroke to claim its 10th national title in school history at the 2010 NCAA Division III Men’s Golf National Championship. Tain Lee, of Claremont McKenna-Harvey Mudd-Scripps Colleges, shot a seven-under 280 to take home the top individual honors. The championships were played at the Hershey Links and Hershey Country Club in Hershey, Pa., and hosted by Elizabethtown College.