Randolph-Macon's Bowling Leads ODAC Women's Golf Awards

Randolph-Macon's Bowling Leads ODAC Women's Golf Awards

R-MC's Albaugh, HU's Ciccarello and Cheng also Honored

FOREST, Va. --- Randolph-Macon College and Hollins University each secured a pair of major honors as the ODAC concluded its second season of women's golf play with the annual all-conference awards.  R-MC's Olivia Bowling was named the ODAC Player of the Year, while mentor Leighann Albaugh received ODAC Coach of the Year laurels.  HU's Shannon Ciccarello was tabbed the ODAC Rookie of the Year, while teammate Elizabeth Cheng earned the ODAC/Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athlete Award.

Bowling, a sophomore from Charlotte Hall, Md., wrapped up her second straight individual medal at the ODAC Women's Golf Championship this weekend at Rock Barn Golf & Spa in Conover, N.C.  She was the only player to card three sub-80 rounds on her way to a 227 (77-73-77) 11-over total, good enough from a nine stroke victory over HU's Cheng.  Following the tournament, Bowling owns the second-best average in the league, with her 78.6 per round average coming in 0.1 strokes behind Cheng.  Bowling competed in eight events this season and registered five top-five finishes that included three wins.  In addition to finishing atop the ODAC Tournament leaderboard, she claimed medalist honors at the Preview at the Barn in September and the Bridgewater Invitational in October.  She is currently the 36th-rated player in NCAA Division III by Golfstat (www.golfstat.com).

Albaugh, in her third season in Ashland, led the Yellow Jackets to their second straight team title at the ODAC Tournament.  R-MC has won each of the two women's golf championships competed under the ODAC banner since the conference instituted the sport in 2012.  Albaugh's Yellow Jackets own the best team average in the conference, chiming in at 345.5.  Randolph-Macon is rated 51st by Golfstat in the NCAA Division III ranks.  R-MC finished atop the team standings at the Preview at the Barn and Bridgewater Invitational this season.

Ciccarello, a freshman from Stafford, Va., capped a strong first year at Hollins by tying for sixth at the ODAC Tournament at 253 (80-86-87).  Her season average of 85.6 is seventh in the conference tables.  She competed in seven events this season, posting three top-10 finishes.  Sixth place proved to be her high finish in three different events.  That included performances at the Preview at the Barn, Bridgewater Invitational, and ODAC Tournament.

Cheng, a senior from Virginia Beach, Va., earns her second straight ODAC/Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athlete Award from the league's sports information directors.  Cheng boasts a 3.91 grade point average as a Chemistry major with a minor concentration in Biochemistry.  A member of the ODAC All-Academic Team, she is a three-time NGCA All-American Scholar as well as a Hollins University honor student.  She won both the Chemical Society Award and Judith Gregory Smith Award in 2012.  On the course, Cheng placed second in the ODAC Tournament at 20-over 236 (79-81-76).  She finished the season leading the ODAC with a 78.5 average.  She competed in seven events with six top-10 and five top-five showings.  She posted three runner-up performances in addition to the ODAC Tournament, including the Preview at the Barn, Generals Invitational and Bridgewater Invitational.  Cheng is currently rated #21 by Golfstat.

For more information, visit the websites of any of the participating schools, or go to the ODAC's home on the Internet at www.odaconline.com.  Don't forget to become a fan of the ODAC on Facebook and follow the ODAC on Twitter at @odacathletics.

ODAC Player of the Year: Olivia Bowling, So., Randolph-Macon
ODAC Coach of the Year: Leighann Albaugh, Randolph-Macon
ODAC Rookie of the Year: Shannon Ciccarello, Fr., Hollins
ODAC/Farm Bureau Scholar-Athlete: Elizabeth Cheng, Sr., Hollins
All-ODAC First Team
Olivia Bowling So. Randolph-Macon
Elizabeth Cheng Sr. Hollins
Marin Warring So. Bridgewater
All-ODAC Second Team
Shannon Ciccarello Fr. Hollins
Andrea Walker So. Bridgewater
All-ODAC Third Team
Brittany McDonaldson So. Eastern Mennonite
Rachael Wright So. Washington and Lee