H-SC's Parker Headlines ODAC Men's Golf Awards

H-SC's Parker Headlines ODAC Men's Golf Awards

Three Major Honors for Washington and Lee

NELLYSFORD, Va. --- Hampden-Sydney College and Washington and Lee University cleaned up the major honors on Monday evening as the ODAC announced its annual All-ODAC Men's Golf Awards at a ceremony following the second round of the championships at Wintergreen.

Tigers' junior Parker Smith took home ODAC Golfer of the Year laurels following a vote of the league's head coaches. Three major awards went to individuals donning Washington and Lee colors. Pete Gyscek secured his first ODAC/Jack Jensen Coach of the Year honor, while Robert Quinilty earned ODAC Rookie of the Year accolades. Junior Luke Farley, who previously won the NCAA's "Elite 90" Award at the 2016 NCAA Division III Championships, was selected as the ODAC/Virginia Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athlete recipient by the ODAC's sports information directors.

The remaining special award actually went to a pair of individuals due to a tie in league voting. Roanoke College senior Andrew Butts and Randolph-Macon junior Kirby Struhar were chosen as the Ted Keller Sportsman of the Year recipients. This is the second time Struhar has earned this honor (2015), which is named after the former athletic director as well as football and golf coach at R-MC.

RELATED: Men's Golf Championship Results

Much like last season's all-conference contingent, youth dominates the full list of honors. Five underclassmen dot the All-ODAC First Team alone with one more first-year athlete appearing on the All-ODAC Third Team. HSC's Smith and Guilford's Josh Hill are the lone players on the first team with any previous experience. The other honorees -- Carlos Andrade from Emory & Henry College, Zach Evens from Guilford, and Quinilty and Brian Peccie from W&L -- are all completing their first season's of collegiate competition.

Smith, from Warrenton, Va., worked his way back from a shoulder injury in the fall campaign to move all the way up to a 33rd national ranking by Golfstat entering the ODAC Championships. He finished in the top-five once and added a top-10 while nearing posting another top-showing thru three days of rain at the ODAC Championships. Smith, along with several individuals and possibly an ODAC team, will await the announcement of the NCAA field on May 8 for a possible at-large selection to the national tournament.

Gyscek is completing his sixth season as the Generals mentor for both men and women's golf. Washington and Lee entered the ODAC Championships rated 14th in the country by Golfstat, owing the ODAC's best tournament per-round average at 299.6 strokes each time out. His Generals finished second in the conference championships this past week.

Quinilty, from Cypress, Texas, posted one top-five and an additional top-10 performance this season. His highlight event was tying for fifth at Jekyll Island (1-under 215), which helped him to a national #27 ranking by Golfstat. He tied for 17th overall at the ODAC Championships.

Farley, from Durham, N.C., owns a 3.954 grade point average as a Mathematics major. That GPA earned him the 2016 Elite 90 honor, which is awarded to the student-athlete with the highest cumulative GPA at each of the NCAA's 90 championship sites across all divisions. On the course, Farley finished third at the ODAC Championships thanks in part to tying for the best round of the tournament with a 70 in round two. That marked his first top-five performance and second top-10 showing of the season.

Listed below are the All-ODAC Men's Golf Awards.  For more information on ODAC golf, visit the websites of any of the participating schools, or go to the ODAC's home on the Internet at www.odaconline.com.  Don't forget to become a fan of the ODAC on Facebook and follow @odacathletics on Twitter and Instagram

ODAC Player of the Year: Parker Smith, Jr., Hampden-Sydney
Jack Jensen Coach of the Year: Pete Gyscek, Washington and Lee
ODAC Rookie of the Year: Robert Quinilty, Washington and Lee
Ted Keller Sportsman of the Year: Andrew Butts, Sr., Roanoke
Ted Keller Sportsman of the Year: Kirby Struhar, Jr., Randolph-Macon
ODAC/Va. Farm Bureau Scholar-Athlete: Luke Farley, Jr. Washington and Lee
All-ODAC First Team
Carlos Andrade Fr. Emory & Henry College
Zach Evens Fr. Guilford College
Josh Hill So. Guilford College
Brian Peccie Fr. Washington and Lee University
Robert Quinilty Fr. Washington and Lee University
Parker Smith Jr. Hampden-Sydney College
All-ODAC Second Team
Ocean Armstrong Jr. Bridgewater College
Andrew Butts Sr. Roanoke College
Blake Forst Jr. Shenandoah University
Conley Hurst Sr. Washington and Lee University
Josh Irby Jr. Lynchburg College
All-ODAC Third Team
Kendall Dunn Sr. Guilford College
Luke Farley Jr. Washington and Lee University
Matthew McDonagh Jr. Randolph-Macon College
Bruce Shober Fr. Hampden-Sydney College
Alex Simmons Sr. Hampden-Sydney College