All-ODAC Swimming Teams Announced

Generals Earn Three Major Honors, Place 18 on All-Conference Squads

FOREST, Va. --- Washington and Lee University won its sixth straight and 23rd overall ODAC swimming title on Sunday, powered by 18 athletes that earned all-conference recognition, 11 on the All-ODAC First Team.  Emory & Henry College placed four Wasps on the first team, while Randolph-Macon College rounded out the 17-swimmer squad with two first team honorees.

Washington and Lee's Caroline Hamp was named the ODAC Swimmer of the Year, while teammates Emma Swabb and Delaney Rolfe were tabbed the ODAC Rookie of the Year and the ODAC/Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athlete of the Year, respectively.  Bridgewater's Fran Smith received ODAC Coach of the Year honors.  Hollins University swimmer Michelle Douglas was named the Bonnie Kestner Sportsmanship Award recipient.

The all-conference teams were determined by placement in events at the 2013 ODAC Swimming Championships.  Those placing first or second in individual events earned first team distinction, while third and fourth place finishers were tabbed to the second team.  The third team is comprised of fifth and sixth place swimmers.

Hamp, a sophomore from Avon Lake, Ohio, was a member of a pair of W&L winning relay teams and claimed one individual event title while also setting conference or meet records in two events.  Hamp and her teammates won the 400-yard medley relay (3:59.99) on Friday and set the ODAC and meet record in the 200-yard medley relay (1:48.11) on Saturday.  She set and reset the 100-yard butterfly record on day two, posting a time of 58.70 in the preliminaries and then bettering that with a winning time of 58.52 in the finals.  Hamp, the 2012 ODAC Rookie of the Year, also placed second in the 200-yard backstroke (2:12.56) and third in the 200-yard individual medley (2:13.51).

Smith enjoys her first top coaching honor in her sixth season guiding the Bridgewater swimmers.  The Eagles' third place finish and 412 team points mark Bridgewater's best finish in the conference championship meet since establishing the program in the 2007-08 season.  Bridgewater went 7-1 in dual meets this season, with its only loss coming to Washington and Lee.

Swabb, a freshman from Erie, Pa., won both the 200-yard individual medley (2:09.93) and 400-yard individual medley (4:40.25).  She and her teammates set a new ODAC and meet record in the 200-yard free relay (1:37.15) and joined Hamp and others on the winning 400-yard medley relay team.  Swabb also placed second in the 200-yard breaststroke (2:29.43).

Rolfe, a senior from Dallas, Texas, became the first swimming athlete to win the sport's scholar-athlete award three times (also won in 2011 and 2012).  She stands out in the classroom with a 3.817 grade point average as an accounting and business administration double major.  In the pool, the three-time All-ODAC First Team swimmer defended her 2012 championship in the 500-yard freestyle by winning the event with a time of 5:12.29.  She was also a member of the Generals ODAC-record setting 800-yard freestyle relay (7:52.87) and 400-yard freestyle relay (3:33.95) teams in 2012.

Listed below are the complete 2012-13 All-ODAC Swimming Teams.  For more information on ODAC Swimming, visit the websites of any of the participating schools, or go to the ODAC's home on the Internet at  Don't forget to become a fan of the ODAC on Facebook and follow the ODAC on Twitter at @odacathletics

ODAC Swimmer of the Year: Caroline Hamp, So., Washington and Lee
ODAC Coach of the Year: Fran Smith, Bridgewater
ODAC Rookie of the Year: Emma Swabb, Washington and Lee
ODAC/Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athlete: Delaney Rolfe, Sr., Washington and Lee
Bonnie Kestner Sportsmanship Award: Michelle Douglas, Jr., Hollins

Lauren Frizzell Fr. Emory & Henry
Taylor Guardalabene Fr. Emory & Henry
Tyler Herron Fr. Emory & Henry
Payton Shirey Fr. Emory & Henry
Emily Maltby So. Randolph-Macon
Rebecca Stevenson Sr. Randolph-Macon
Caroline Hamp So. Washington and Lee
Meredith Hardy Jr. Washington and Lee
Lauren Kasoff Jr. Washington and Lee
Hannah Melkun So. Washington and Lee
Colleen Moore Sr. Washington and Lee
Izzy Brassfield Sr. Washington and Lee
Stephanie Foster Fr. Washington and Lee
Meredith Murphy Fr. Washington and Lee
Delaney Rolfe Sr. Washington and Lee
Brittany Ross Sr. Washington and Lee
Emma Swabb Fr. Washington and Lee
Carrie Crowther Jr. Bridgewater
Claire Webber Fr. Hollins
Emily Clary So. Randolph-Macon
Rachel Leigh Fr. Randolph-Macon
Kristen Trexler So. Randolph-Macon
Mary Gabe So. Washington and Lee
Lizz Platt Fr. Washington and Lee
Sarah Schaffer Fr. Washington and Lee
Annalee Gallagher So. Bridgewater
Jennifer Lutz Jr. Bridgewater
Jeni Zeiler Sr. Bridgewater
Nicole Powell Fr. Emory & Henry
Shannon Berry Sr. Notre Dame of Maryland
Jessi Duffy So. Notre Dame of Maryland
Katherine Dodd Sr. Randolph-Macon
Katie Houle So. Randolph-Macon
Jordan McConnell So. Randolph-Macon
May McNeil Fr. Randolph-Macon
Elizabeth Plowman Jr. Randolph-Macon
Grace Duncan Fr. Washington and Lee
Sydney Gay So. Washington and Lee
Rachel Mensch Sr. Washington and Lee
Kelly Ross Sr. Washington and Lee