Whitson, LC Highlight ODAC at Regionals

Whitson, LC Highlight ODAC at Regionals

Seven Individuals, LC Men Headed to Nationals

FOREST, Va. --- Strong performances by ODAC cross country runners continued on Saturday at the NCAA South/Southeast Regional hosted by Rhodes College in Memphis, Tenn.  Virginia Wesleyan College junior Sean Whitson and the Lynchburg College men's team highlighted the conference's showing with first place finishes in the final standings.  The Hornets and seven individual qualifiers combined from the ODAC's men's and women's ranks will compete in the 2010 NCAA Division III Cross Country Championships in Iowa next weekend.

The Hornets finished 30 points better than Centre College to claim the team crown.  Ryan Van Alstine (3rd - 25:12), Cody Stanton (6th - 25:32) and Nolan Compton (7th - 25:33) each placed in the top-10.  Lawrence Minor (19th - 26:17) and Brian Robinson (25th - 26:44) completed the Hornets' scoring runners to finish with 70 team points.  Brandon Demers (38th - 26:48) and Daniel Cutright (44th - 26:54) also competed for LC.

VWC's Whitson became the second straight ODAC runner to win the men's south/southeast regional (Ricky Flynn, LC) with a time of 24:54.  He was the only runner to break 25 minutes on the eight-kilometer course.  He'll be joined by a trio of ODAC runners that will compete as individuals in the NCAA championship meet.  Guilford College's Derick Kosgei (5th - 25:20), the 2010 ODAC champion, will make the trip west along with Richy Bikko (8th - 25:44) from Eastern Mennonite University and the Marlins' David Kidd (9th - 25:55).

Three ODAC women will also head to the national event, hosted by Wartburg College.  Two-time conference champion, Jennie Pernisi (5th - 22:32), and Krystal Foster (14th - 23:01) will represent Lynchburg.  Bridgewater College's Olivia Mills (6th - 22:39) also qualified after a strong showing on the regional six-kilometer course.

Click HERE for full results from the 2010 NCAA South/Southeast Regionals.

The 2010 NCAA Division III Cross Country Championships are set for Saturday, November 20 in Waverly, Iowa.  For more information, visit the NCAA's official championship website at www.ncaa.com, or by clicking HERE