Lynchburg Earns Fifth ODAC Men's Lacrosse Title

SALEM, Va. --- Sophomore attack Austin Stewart posted seven goals Sunday as the Lynchburg College men's lacrosse team defeated Hampden-Sydney College, 21-13, in the finals of the 2014 Old Dominion Athletic Conference (ODAC) Championship Tournament. It is the fifth ODAC title in program history and the second in the last three seasons (2012).

H-SC got on the board first, but the Hornets scored the next five goals. Following the Tiger goal, Harrison Brennen won the faceoff and took the groundball in for a quick tally to even the score. Campbell Armstrong gave LC the lead from David Alyanakian at 12:44. Alyanakian scored himself from Aaron Murphy and the Hornets had back-to-back goals from Austin Stewart from Murphy to go ahead 5-1 midway through the first quarter. H-SC's Fleet Jernigan cut the edge to three after a timeout, but Murphy found the back of the net to record his fourth point of the quarter, and the period ended with a 6-2 LC edge.

Stewart opened the second with an unassisted goal at 13:20 after LC killed a man-down situation. Dane Angell followed with a pair of unassisted goals to push the score to 9-2. The Tigers got back into it, posting the next three goals to climb back to 9-5, and the teams traded scores en route to an 11-7 LC halftime advantage.

Lynchburg put the game away with five-straight goals to open the third quarter. Armstrong had two in the 5-0 run, while Alyanakian, Murphy and Stewart each had one to give LC a 16-7 lead. Each squad added a late goal to make the score 17-8 after three periods.

Angell netted his third tally and Stewart scored his sixth goal of the game to make the score 19-8 at the 12-minute mark. H-SC rattled off the next three goals to climb back to 19-12, but could get no closer.

Stewart finished with seven goals and one assist, and Murphy tallied three goals and four assists. Angell and Armstrong each had hat tricks, while Alyanakian had two goals and two assists. Todd Galvin recorded a goal and an assist and Rob Arnold had two helpers. Brennan scooped eight groundballs, while Chris Hower collected six ground balls and caused two turnovers.

Abbot Wallenborn paced the Tigers with five goals, and Armstrong and Duncan Morris each had hat tricks. Jake Koferl won 15 of his 24 face-off opportunities and corralled 10 ground balls.

Lynchburg (16-4) earns the conference's automatic bid to the 2014 NCAA Division III Championship Tournament. The selection show is slated for this evening and can be viewed at: Hampden-Sydney ends the season with an 10-8 record.

2014 All-Tournament Team
Max Kraus, Roanoke
Michael Lintner, Roanoke
Cameron Dabir, Washington and Lee
Joe Wood, Washington and Lee
Thomas Armstrong, Hampden-Sydney
Jake Koferl, Hampden-Sydney
Abbott Wallenborn, Hampden-Sydney
Dane Angell, Lynchburg College
Andrew Fawkes, Lynchburg College
Jon Gill, Lynchburg College
Aaron Murphy, Lynchburg College
Austin Stewart, Lynchburg College

--- This release is courtesy of the Lynchburg College sports information department. ---