W&L Sweeps ODAC Cross Country Titles for a Third Consecutive Season

VIRGINIA BEACH, Va. --- Washington and Lee University continued its recent trend of dominance in cross country as the Generals hoisted the ODAC men's and women's cross country championship trophies for the third straight season after a morning of competition in Virginia Beach on the campus of Virginia Wesleyan University.

The Generals won the men's crown by 21 points with 27 tallies trumping the 48 markers collected by second-place Bridgewater College. The margin of victory increased for W&L in the women's competition to 40 points with just 34 tallies compared to 74 for runner-up Lynchburg College.

There was no doubt when it came to individual champions as well. Virginia Wesleyan senior Marissa Coombs and Bridgewater's Jamie Hiegel earned Runner of the Meet honors after out-pacing the competition by more than 42-seconds combined. Coombs completed the six-kilometer course in 22:01.24, winning by 11.52-seconds over runner-up Michaela Mast from Eastern Mennonite. Mast doubled as the Rookie of the Meet as well as the ODAC/Virginia Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athlete. Hiegel won the men's eight-kilometer race by 31.41-seconds with a time of 24:35.40. Lynchburg's Hunter Frizzell (25.51.32) earned Rookie of the Meet distinction after finishing as the top first-year runner in ninth place. W&L's Hank Patrick received the men's ODAC/Virginia Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athlete honor.

Meet Results

Washington and Lee's women's victory was powered by six All-ODAC runners including three on the first team. Kirsten McMichael (22:16.79) finished third overall, while Julia Moody (22:23.12) and Anna Nelson (22:25.17) chimed in sixth and seventh. Hannah Dieterle (22:25.96) made it three straight Generals in eighth to lead off the second team finishers. Katie Harris (22:35.90) placed 10th and Katie Bearup (22:42.29) stopped the watches 14th.

Similarly in the men's competition, five Generals earned All-ODAC status on the way to the team crown. Mackenzy Leroy (25:06.81), Patrick (25:07.04), and Cooper Baird (25:07.67) finished 2-3-4 and were joined by Austin Kinne (25:26.94) in sixth place for a fourth first-team honor. Freddie Marx (26:01.65) capped the W&L point-scorers in 12th place for a second team nod.

Below is a full listing of team standings as well as the top-14 finishers that earned All-ODAC recognition and the special award winners from today's championships. There will be more to come with the ODAC Runner, Coach and Rookie of the Year determinations following the regional championships, which are scheduled for November 11 and hosted by Christopher Newport University.

For more information on ODAC cross country and the 2017 championships, visit the websites of any of the participating schools.  You can also visit the home of the ODAC on the Internet at www.odaconline.com and view the ODAC cross country championship website.  Don't forget to become a fan of the ODAC on Facebook and follow @odacathletics on Twitter and Instagram

ODAC Men's Championship - 8K Race   ODAC Women's Championship - 6K Race
1. Washington and Lee 27 pts.   1. Washington and Lee 34 pts.
2. Bridgewater 48 pts.   2. Lynchburg 74 pts.
3. Lynchburg 85 pts.   3. Eastern Mennonite 85 pts.
4. Roanoke 109 pts.   4. Bridgewater 114 pts.
5. Shenandoah 143 pts.   5. Shenandoah 131 pts.
6. Virginia Wesleyan 177 pts.   6. Roanoke 139 pts.
7. Emory & Henry 206 pts.   7. Virginia Wesleyan 169 pts.
8. Guilford 250 pts.   8. Emory & Henry 219 pts.
9. Hampden-Sydney 253 pts.   9. Guilford 278 pts.
10. Eastern Mennonite 255 pts.   10. Hollins 290 pts.
11. Randolph   294 pts.   11. Sweet Briar 318 pts.
        12. Randolph 341 pts.
All-ODAC First Team - Men   All-ODAC First Team - Women
Jamie Hiegel BC 24:35.40   Marissa Coombs VWU 22:01.24
Mackenzye Leroy W&L 25:06.81   Michaela Mast EMU 22:12.76
Hank Patrick W&L 25:07.04   Kirsten McMichael W&L 22:16.79
Cooper Baird W&L 25:07.67   Morgan Watson LC 22:21.14
Tristan Lucy-Speidel LC 25:11.44   Calista Ariel BC 22:21.93
Austin Kinne W&L 25:26.94   Julia Moody W&L 22:23.12
Max Weidman BC 25:30.93   Anna Nelson W&L 22:25.17
All-ODAC Second Team - Men   All-ODAC Second Team - Women
Robert Theimer BC 25:37.00   Hannah Dieterle W&L 22:25.96
Hunter Frizzell LC 25:51.32   Michela Cholak LC 22:29.0
Austin Tolbert E&H 25:52.26   Katie Harris W&L 22:35.90
Johnny Haizel-Cobbina BC 25:58.29   Megan Good EMU 22:39.49
Freddie Marx W&L 26:01.65   Aislynn Smith SU 22:39.50
Devyn Heron RC 26:04.27   Jenna Rea BC 22:42.27
Justin Mehrer SU 26:05.50   Katie Bearup W&L 22:42.29
Men's Runner of the Meet   Women's Runner of the Meet
Jamie Hiegel, BC   Marissa Coombs, VWU
Men's Rookie of the Meet   Women's Rookie of the Meet
Hunter Frizzell, LC   Michaela Mast, EMU
Men's ODAC/Farm Bureau Insurance
  Women's ODAC/Farm Bureau Insurance
Hank Patrick, W&L   Michaela Mast, EMU