Rotary Club of Salem Announces Finalists for 2018 Jostens Trophy

Rotary Club of Salem Announces Finalists for 2018 Jostens Trophy

SALEM, Va. --- The 2018 Jostens Trophy timeline reached a benchmark in its annual process with the announcement of the finalists by the members of the Rotary Club of Salem (Va.) on Tuesday.  Twenty student-athletes -- 10 men and 10 women -- remain in the running for this season's honors from a stellar pool of nominees representing all eight regions of Division III men's and women's basketball.

The Jostens Trophy is awarded to the outstanding NCAA Division III men’s and women’s basketball players who excel on the court, in the classroom, and in the community.  This season marks the 21st presentation of the awards, with the inaugural trophies bestowed in 1998.

The Rotary Club of Salem is responsible for the initial review of nominations and narrowed the collection of candidates over the past two weeks. The Club's Jostens Trophy Committee employs a numerical rating system in determining the lists of finalists. The system ensures an objective process thru the first round of vetting. The 20 finalists continue thru the review process, with a national selection committee of 30 or more individuals charged with determining the two winners of the 2018 Jostens Trophy honors.

Listed below are the finalists for the 2018 Jostens Trophy:

Nate Axelrod, Ohio Wesleyan University     Samm Chandler, Averett University  
Marcos Echevarria, Nichols College     Mikaela Eppard, Elmhurst College  
Brandon Federici, Franklin & Marshall College     Alexandra Leslie, University of Rochester  
Aston Francis, Wheaton College (Ill.)     Camille McPherson, Moravian College  
Kevin Grow, Carleton College     Abby Owings, Thomas More College  
Jay Howard, Catholic University of America     Raquel Pederzani, Johnson & Wales University (R.I.)  
Patrick MacDonald, Maritime College (N.Y.)     Kaitlyn Read, New York University  
Wes McKinney, Hanover College     Ali Rinfrette, University of Pittsburgh at Bradford  
Dalton Myers, York College (Pa.)     Katie Sommer, Wartburg College  
Andy Orr, Lebanon Valley College     Jess Vormelker, Thiel College  

Ballots from the national selection committee are due by March 8 with the winning schools expected to be notified by March 9. The awards presentation is scheduled for Thursday, March 15 at the Salem Civic Center in conjunction with the NCAA Division III men's basketball semifinals and championship in Salem, Va., on March 16-17.


The Jostens Trophy is a national award created by the Rotary Club of Salem to honor the most outstanding men's and women's NCAA Division III basketball players of the year. The award takes into account three vital parts: basketball ability, academic prowess, and community service. The trophy models the Rotary International motto of "Service Above Self" by recognizing those who truly fit the ideal of the well-rounded NCAA Division III student-athlete. This year's class marks the 21st year the awards have been presented.

Additional information on the award can be found at