Saluting the Winter Scholar-Athletes

Saluting the Winter Scholar-Athletes

Continuing a 'Partnership in Excellence'

FOREST, Va. --- The ODAC and Farm Bureau Insurance have built a strong relationship over the past few years, emphasizing the importance of the complete student-athlete experience at the NCAA Division III level.  That "Partnership in Excellence" continued this winter as the ODAC and Farm Bureau Insurance salute the five winners of the 2011 ODAC/Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athlete Awards from the winter athletic campaigns.

The ODAC/Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar Athlete Award is given to a student-athlete in each of the conference's 22 sponsored sports.  Farm Bureau Insurance of Virginia is the presenter of each of the ODAC/Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athlete Awards, forming a partnership with the ODAC to emphasize the NCAA Division III philosophy of the complete student-athlete experience.  To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be at least a sophomore standing and have spent at least one full academic year at the nominating institution, must maintain at least a 3.2 cumulative grade point average, and must have participated in at least 50-percent of the team's events as a starter or key contributor.  The awards are selected in a vote of the conference's sports information directors.

Listed and linked below are each of the winners from the ODAC's five fall sports.  To learn more about each athlete, click the associated link.

MEN'S BASKETBALL: Colton Hunt, Randolph College

WOMEN'S BASKETBALL: Becca Bolton, Washington and Lee University

MEN’S INDOOR TRACK & FIELD: David Doobin, Washington and Lee University

WOMEN’S INDOOR TRACK & FIELD: Ashley Allen, Lynchburg College

WOMEN’S SWIMMING: Delaney Rolfe, Washington and Lee University