Sweet Briar Wins Third ODAC Riding Championship Since 2015

Sweet Briar won its third riding championship since 2015 on Saturday at the Bridgewater Equestrian Center.
Sweet Briar won its third riding championship since 2015 on Saturday at the Bridgewater Equestrian Center.

Vixen's Schlosberg, Fraley Take Home Top Rider Honors

SWEET BRIAR, Va. | Sweet Briar College returned to the top of the ODAC riding ranks as the Vixens claimed the team title at the ODAC Equestrian Championships on Saturday at the Bridgewater Equestrian Center. This is the third crown in the last five years for SBC's riders, joining team victories in 2015 and 2016. SBC was the runner-up each of the past two years, adding to the program's sustained level of success.

Three of the Vixens four championship riders earned All-ODAC honors on the way to helping Sweet Briar rack up 17 total points for a one-point triumph over runner-up Hollins University. Randolph College was the lone remaining program in double figures with 14 points for a third place finish. The host Eagles placed fourth with eight points, while Washington and Lee University chimed in fifth with seven tallies. The University of Lynchburg rounded out the ODAC's riding contingent with four points.

Related Information: Full Championship Results

It has become common to see Sweet Briar competitors claim both ODAC Rider and Rookie of the Year laurels, but what is rare is for two riders to secure the honors considering a single Vixen earned the conference's top-two rider awards in three of the past five years.

SBC's Emily Schlosberg top the chart with an 83.50 average covering both equitation over fences classes to garner ODAC Rider of the Year honors. Teammate Maggie Fraley earned ODAC Rookie of the Year status as the top first-year competitor with a fences cumulative average of 79.25. SBC mentor Mimi Wroten received ODAC Coach of the Year recognition from her peers, while Randolph's Kirby Tidmore was tabbed the ODAC/Virginia Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athlete via a vote of the league's sports information directors.

Related Inforomation: All-Time ODAC Equestrian Championship Results

Posted below are the full team standings from the 2019 ODAC Equestrian Championships, as well as the All-ODAC Riding Team.  For more information, visit the websites of any of the participating schools, or go to the ODAC's home on the Internet at www.odaconline.com. Don't forget to become a fan of the ODAC on Facebook an follow @odacathletics on Twitter and Instagram.

ODAC Rider of the Year: Emily Schlosberg, Sweet Briar
ODAC Coach of the Year: Mimi Wroten, Sweet Briar
ODAC Rookie of the Year: Maggie Fraley, Sweet Briar
ODAC/Va. Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athlete: Kirby Tidmore, Randolph

ODAC Points Standings
1. Sweet Briar 17 pts.
2. Hollins 16 pts.
3. Randolph 14 pts.
4. Bridgewater 8 pts.
5. Washington and Lee 7 pts.
6. Lynchburg 4 pts.


All-ODAC Riding Team
1. Emily Schlosberg | SBC 83.500
2. Samantha Hawrysko | BC 82.125
3. Lily Peterson | SBC 80.750
3. Kirby Tidmore | RAND 80.750
5. Maggie Fraley | SBC 79.250
6. Samantha Johnson | W&L 78.750
6. Caitlyn Sheffer | HU 78.750
8. Elisa George | W&L 77.750
9. Logan Landfried | HU 77.500
9. Molly McLaughlin | RAND 77.500