W&L’s Korte Repeats as POY, EMU’s Bechler Top Coach

W&L's Mathews Earns Rookie of the Year, EMU's Landis Scholar-Athlete

SALEM, Va. --- This year's annual All-ODAC Field Hockey voting has ended and the All-ODAC teams and individual awards have been set.  Washington & Lee's Kendall Korte and Emily Mathews collected Player of the Year and Rookie of the Year awards, respectively. Eastern Mennonite's Brenda Bechler collected the Coach of the Year honor and the Royals' Kristina Landis was tabbed as the ODAC/Farm Bureau Scholar-Athlete award following a vote of the league's sports information directors.

Washington & Lee's Korte, a senior Midfielder, collected her second straight Player of the Year honor.  She led the Generals to an 11-7 overall record, 5-2 in the ODAC.  W&L entered the ODAC tournament as the #3 seed.  The Generals made their way to the semifinals before falling to the eventual champion, Lynchburg, 1-0.  Korte finished her career sitting fourth in W&L history with 19 career goals, second with 19 career assists, and third with 57 career points.  This is Korte's third straight year occupying a spot on the All-ODAC First Team.

Bechler, in her fifth season at Eastern Mennonite, earned her second Coach of the Year award.  She led her Royals to a 10-7 overall record this season, and a perfect 7-0 in the ODAC.  Her team entered the ODAC tournament as the #1 seed and made its way to the championship game before falling to Lynchburg, 1-0.  Four of her athletes can be found on the All-ODAC First Team this season.

Mathews, an instant contributor to Washington & Lee's defense this year, was named Rookie of the Year.  She made one defensive save and helped lead a defense that only allowed 1.50 goals per game this season.

Landis, a senior majoring in biology with a minor in art, was tabbed the ODAC/Farm Bureau Scholar-Athlete of the Year.  On the field, she collected two defensive saves and helped lead EMU's defense into a tie for second in shutouts (4).  Off the field, Landis boasts a 4.0 cumulative grade point average while being a member of the EMU Honors Program and the Dean's List.

Below is the entire list of the 2007 ODAC Field Hockey All-Conference teams.

Alyssa Derstine, Attack, Eastern Mennonite
Lisa King, Defense, Eastern Mennonite
Kristina Landis, Defense, Eastern Mennonite
Sarah Roth, Attack, Eastern Mennonite
Samantha Howard, Attack, Lynchburg
Signey Milks, Midfield, Lynchburg
Allie Weir, Attack, Lynchburg
Ashley Crouch, Goalkeeper, Randolph-Macon
Lindsay Paz, Goalkeeper, Roanoke
Sallie Armstrong, Attack, Washington & Lee
Kendall Korte, Midfield, Washington & Lee

Kalah Hess, Midfield, Bridgewater
Brianna Jacques, Attack, Bridgewater
Jessi Bowman, Attack, Lynchburg
Jenny Weir, Midfield, Lynchburg
Becky Clark, Defense, Randolph-Macon
Nicole Klee, Midfield, Randolph-Macon
Allie Wheeler, Defense, Randolph-Macon
Leeanne Clark, Wing, Roanoke
Melissa Carron, Midfield, Sweet Briar
Liz Garson, Midfield, Washington & Lee
Tara Rubenstein, Goalkeeper, Washington & Lee

Elizabeth Sullivan, Goalkeeper, Bridgewater
Kellie Worst, Defense/Midfield, Bridgewater
Kendra Anderson, Midfield/Defense, Bridgewater
Erin Majerowicz, Midfield, Lynchburg
Jill Dixon, Attack, Randolph-Macon
Mariah Vietri, Attack, Roanoke
Shawna Poole, Defense, Roanoke
Cat Cox, Goalkeeper, Sweet Briar
Molly McGonegle, Midfield, Sweet Briar
Emily Mathews, Defense, Washington & Lee
Grace McGee, Defense, Washington & Lee

Kendall Korte, Washington & Lee

Emily Mathews, Washington & Lee

Brenda Bechler, Eastern Mennonite 

Kristina Landis, Eastern Mennonite